JINR Director Grigory Trubnikov awarded title of SPbPU Honorary Doctor

News, 21 February 2024

On 19 February 2024, JINR Director, Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) Grigory Trubnikov received the diploma and mantle of the Honorary Doctor of Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University (SPbPU). The ceremony dedicated to the 125th anniversary of St. Petersburg Polytechnic University took place as part of a grand meeting of the SPbPU Scientific Council.

“From the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank you for the opportunity to become a member of the family of the famous Saint Petersburg Polytechnic University and congratulate everyone on the anniversary. Scientists study the world as it is; engineers create the world that has never been. We have started to cooperate with the Polytechnic University long time ago, it is a great pleasure working with you,” Grigory Trubnikov stressed.

Photo: © https://www.spbstu.ru/

As a sign of strengthening ties between the university and some of its key partners, the title of SPbPU Honorary Doctor was also awarded to three academicians: Director of the Ivannikov Institute for System Programming of the Russian Academy of Sciences Arutyun Avetisyan, Rector of the Al-Farabi Kazakh National University Zhanseit Tuimebayev, Rector of Tashkent State Technical University named after Islam Karimov Sadritdin Turabdzhanov, as well as member of the Mathematics Teaching Committee of the Ministry of Education of China, President of Jiangsu Normal University Professor Zhou Ruguang.

“Today is a special day for us. Those gathered here have the special honour of receiving the badge and mantle of honorary doctors of our university. These are five outstanding, unique scientists, organizers, and most importantly, friends of the Polytechnic University. Our university shares a longstanding relationship with them, fostered by warm relations and fruitful collaboration. This is a significant event for all of us,” SPbPU Rector Andrey Rudskoy commented on the presentation of the awards.

Photo: © https://www.spbstu.ru/