Egor V. Lychagin

Director of the Frank Laboratory of Neutron Physics


Egor V. Lychagin, Doctor of Science in Physics and Mathematics.

Date and place of birth:

17 July 1973, Dimitrovgrad, Ulianovsk Region, USSR


  • 1991–1996    Department of Experimental and Theoretical Physics of Moscow Engineering Physics Institute (MEPhI)
  • 1997–2000    postgraduate studies at JINR UC
  • 2008    Doctor of Science in Physics and Mathematics: “Experimental study of inelastic scattering of ultracold neutrons (UCN) with a small energy transfer (~10-7eV) in the interaction with solid surfaces in a gravitational spectrometer”

Professional career:

  • 1996–2000    Trainee-researcher, Nuclear Physics Department, Frank Laboratory of Neutron Physics (FLNP) JINR
  • 2000–2005    Junior researcher, Nuclear Physics Department, FLNP JINR
  • 2005–2007    Researcher, Nuclear Physics Department, FLNP JINR
  • 2007–2013    Head of Sector, Nuclear Physics Department, FLNP JINR
  • 2013–2023    Deputy Director for Science, FLNP JINR
  • Since 2023    FLNP JINR Director

Administrative activities:

  • 2002–2007    Assistant to ISTC project manager (Project No.2286 “Direct measurements of the n-n scattering cross section with the YAGUAR pulsed reactor”
  • 2005   Scientific Secretary of the International Workshop “Experiments in giant pulses of thermal neutrons from pulsed reactors and in traps of large accelerators”
  • 2012–2022    Scientific Secretary of the annual International Seminar on Interaction of Neutrons with Nuclei (ISINN)
  • Since 2013   Member of Editorial Board of PEPAN journal

Teaching experience:

  • Since 2020    Lecturer at Dubna State University, Dubna, Russia
  • Since 2020    Lecturer at Moscow State University, Moscow, Russia
  • 2018–2022    Scientific Supervisor of 2 bachelors, 1 master student, 1 graduate student, and 1 doctoral student at Dubna State University, Dubna, Russia

Research interests:

Slow neutron physics, interaction of ultracold neutrons with matter, fundamental properties of neutrons.


Co-author of more than 70 papers.

Prizes, awards:

  • 2002   I. M. Frank Scholarships
  • 2006   F. L. Shapiro Scholarships
  • 2002   FLNP First Prize “Investigation of UCN small heating”
  • 2006   JINR Second Prize “Observation and study of small upscattering of ultracold neutrons”
  • 2009   JINR Second Prize “Study of coherent scattering of slow neutrons by nanoparticles, and the creation of a neutron bottle for cold neutrons”
  • 2016   FLNP First Prize “UCN sources at external beams of thermal neutrons”
  • 2022   FLNP First Prize “Enhanced directional extraction of very cold neutrons using a diamond nanoparticle powder reflector”
  • 2016   Honorary Diploma of JINR for many years of fruitful work, JINR, Dubna
  • 2020   Certificate of Recognition of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education

Grants, federal contracts:

  • 2001–2022    Russian Foundation for Basic Research, leader of 7 grants
  • 2013–2018    Member of Executing Committee of GRANIT collaboration
  • 2020–2022    JINR key contact person in CREMLINplus Project



FLNP JINR Director



phone: +7 (496) 216-24-28