Grigory Trubnikov became member of jury of Mendeleev Prize

News, 01 April 2021

The jury of the UNESCO-Russia Mendeleev International Prize was announced.

As reported on the official website of UNESCO, seven eminent scientists were appointed as juries: a Nobel Prize laureate in Chemistry Jean-Pierre Sauvage, President of UK Science Council Tom Blundell, JINR Director RAS Academician Grigory Trubnikov, a Nobel Prize laureate in Physiology or Medicine Tasuku Honjo, as well as Ana María Cetto Kramis, Tebello Nyokong, and Samia Charfi Kaddour. The members of the jury of the Prize are appointed for a two-year period, renewable for a maximum period of six years. The Jury meets once a year to assess the applications.

It should be reminded that the UNESCO-Russia Mendeleev International Prize in Basic Sciences announced at the end of 2020 aims to promote and encourage outstanding achievements in the fields of fundamental sciences, including such disciplines as chemistry, physics, mathematics, and biology, which are the basis for the spread of scientific knowledge and are fundamental for the progress in innovation and sustainable development.

It is awarded annually to two individual award-winners for their breakthrough discoveries, outstanding innovations and avid promotion of the basic sciences and international cooperation that have a great transformative influence on a regional and global scale.