Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK)


In 1956 the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK) was among the founding states of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research and participated in developing and adopting the fundamental documents regulating its activities, specifically, Charter of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, which provides that “results achieved in scientific research carried out in the Institute shall be used exclusively for peaceful purposes for the benefit of human mankind”. Successive years-long cooperation of JINR with DPRK research organizations, as well as participation of DPRK scientists and researchers in selected JINR projects, was in full conformity with the basic principles of JINR mandate.

In recent times the DPRK started to divert from its international commitments undertaken within the framework of JINR fundamental documents, JINR Charter in particular. With this regard and in keeping with the existing procedure JINR supreme governing body – the Committee of Plenipotentiaries (CP) of JINR member states – at its annual sitting during 20-21st November 2015 passed a decision to suspend membership of the DPRK in JINR due to its failure to comply with requirements of JINR Charter.

In accordance with the above CP decision starting from November 2015 the DPRK has been denied the right to participate in JINR governing bodies, JINR science programmes or benefit from achieved JINR research results. JINR does not employ nationals from the DPRK as staff members from 31st March 2015. All JINR contacts with the DPRK research community have ceased at all levels.

The decision to suspend DPRK membership in JINR was immediately and duly communicated to the Government of the DPRK through DPRK Embassy in Moscow. The UN Security Council, in response to its enquiry, was also informed about suspension of DPRK membership in JINR on 7th December 2015.

Restoration of membership of the DPRK in JINR shall be possible strictly subject to and in conformity with requirements of JINR Charter.