News, 24 August 2018

On Monday, 27 August 2018, the 6th International Conference «Models in Quantum Field Theory» (MQFT-2018) devoted to the memory of professor Alexander Nikolaevich Vasiliev will be launched. The MQFT-2018 Conference will be held from 27 to 31 August in Petergof, the picturesque suburbs of Saint-Petersburg.

The International Conference “Models in quantum field theory” is a biennially held conference invariably visited by the most distinguished members of the world-famous centres for theoretical physics. The conferences topics are related to the most important problems of the quantum field theory models construction and research. During the conference, it is proposed to discuss the actual problems in the Quantum Field Theory methods (applying to the elementary particle and condensed matter physics), gravitation, cosmology, mathematical problems and methods in Quantum Field Theory, and integrable models.

During the conferences, the special importance is placed upon the methods and approaches created and developed by the researchers of “Vasiliev school”, a school of theoretical physics that was established by Alexander Nikolaevich Vasiliev and has since then aquired an international scope. Currently, as many as 10 Professors and 20 Ph.D. researchers belong to the school. Their successfull work in the field of theoretical physics is conducted either in Russia or around the world; many of them have developed their own methods and approaches and acquired many students of their own. Results obtained by A.N. Vasiliev and his followers revealed the deep intrinsic affinity between classical complex systems with many degrees of freedom and quantum objects, which allowed to successfully apply the powerful mathematical methods of the quantum field theory to the phenomena of seemingly completely different nature.

The organizers of the Conference are the Department of High Energy and Elementary Particle Physics, Saint Petersburg State University, the B.P.Konstantinov Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute of the National Research Centre “Kurchatov Institute” and the Bogoliubov Laboratory of Theoretical Physics of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research.