At the XXVI conference on accelerators in Protvino

News, 17 October 2018

From 1 to 5 October 2018, the XXVI Russian Particle Accelerator Conference (RuPAC-2018) was held in the Institute for High Energy Physics (NRC “Kurchatov Institute”) in Protvino. The Conference was a great success.

More than 170 scientists participated in the Conference. 191 reports were presented, among which there were 24 invited reports, 30 oral and 137 poster reports. JINR was represented by the largest delegation of 31 scientists. Five invited reports were presented by V.M. Zhabitsky, I.V. Kalagin, I.N. Meshkov, A.O. Sidorin, E.M. Syresin, 6 oral reports were delivered by V.V. Borisov, A.A. Martynov, I.N. Meshkov, D.N. Nikiforov, A.V. Smirnov, A,V. Tuzikov, and 24 poster reports were presented.

Major projects on their performing stage were reported on. The report on the NICA complex attracted the general attention. Reports on the fourth generation sources of synchrotron radiation also evoked a vivid interest among the audience. It was noted that the President of the Russian Federation V.V. Putin took a decision on construction of three such sources. The first one will be placed in Novosibirsk near the university campus (the report by K.V. Zolotarev), the second source will be constructed in Protvino (the report by S.M. Polozov), and the third one will be located on the Russky island not far from Vladivostok. Nowadays, the first source is on the operational stage while the second one is on the design stage.

It is a pleasure to note that a number of young reporters was large. Following the tradition, the competition of young scientists was held in which 50 participants presented 59 reports. The long list of nominees included 15 scientific works. Six out of them were selected for the RuPAC-2018 prize, including one encouragement prize. The following reporters were awarded the RuPAC prizes:

  • Julia Maltseva (Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk) for the invited report “VEPP-5 Injection Complex performance improvement for two collider operation”;
  • Ivan Gorelyshev (JINR, Dubna) for the poster report “Test Bench for the NICA Stochastic Cooling Elements”;
  • Alexander Opekunov (RFNC – VNIIEF, Sarov) for the poster report “Experimental Studies of Electron Beam Characteristics of High Power CW Resonance Accelerator”;
  • Yuri Paramonov (TORIY, Moscow) for the oral report “C-Band High Power Amplifier Klystron developed for Linear Electron Accelerators”;
  • Antonina Smygacheva (NRC “Kurchatov Institute”) for the poster report “The bunch size measurements in the storage ring «Siberia-2»”.

The encouragement prize was awarded to 2-year student of the Master’s programme of the University “Dubna”, staff member of the Dzhelepov Laboratory of Nuclear Problems Sergey Melnikov for the report “Stability of charged particle movement in a storage ring with focusing by a longitudinal magnetic field”.

This time, the RuPAC prizes were not divided into categories. All winners will receive certificates and money reward.

Ekaterina Akhmanova,
Scientific Secretary of the RuPAC-2018 Programme Committee