Yu. Ts. Oganessian won the Demidov Prize 2019

News, 13 November 2019

Yuri Oganessian won the Demidov Prize, one of the most prestigious Russian awards for scientists. The Demidov Prize is a Russian national non-governmental award presented to Russian scientists for their outstanding contribution to the development of fundamental sciences.

MOSCOW, 12 November. /TASS/. Four people won the Demidov Prize 2019, one of the most prestigious Russian awards for scientists, including the world-famous scientist, Scientific Leader of the Flerov Laboratory of Nuclear Reactions of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (Dubna) Academician Yuri Oganessian. According to Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Demidov Scientific Foundation Gennady Mesyats, it was announced at the press-conference in the Conference Hall of the RAS Presidium dedicated to the presentation of new laureates of the Demidov Prize 2019. Academician Mesyats added that the solemn awarding ceremony would take place in Yekaterinburg in early February 2020.

© Sergey Karpukhin / TASS

About the Prize

The Demidov Prize was established in 1831 by Ural industrialist Pavel Demidov. Until 1866, the prize was awarded annually on 17 April, on the birthday of Emperor Alexander II. It was considered as the most prestigious non-governmental award in Russia. On the initiative of the Ural branch of RAS and local entrepreneurs, the tradition was revived in Yekaterinburg in 1993. National non-governmental Demidov prizes are awarded for personal significant contribution to several fields: earth sciences, physics and mathematics, economics and entrepreneurship, humanities.

Laureates are selected by a survey among specialists in each field. Five commissions and the committee on prizes, which includes the most prominent scientists of Russia, make the final decision. Funds for the payment of prizes come from the Demidov Scientific Foundation. Each winner receives a diploma, a gold medal in the unique malachite case-box and 1million rubles (annually corrected).

In different years, the winners of the Demidov Prize were Andrey Gaponov-Grekhov, Nikolay Laverov, Zhores Alferov, Andrey Zaliznyak, Ludwig Faddeev, Gennady Mesyats, Vladimir Fortov and other outstanding scientists.

Following the TASS information