Alexey Rozanov won Demidov Prize 2022

News, 26 December 2022

Academician Alexey Rozanov, Head of the LRB JINR Astrobiology Sector, won the Demidov Prize 2022, one of the most prestigious Russian awards for scientists. Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Demidov Scientific Foundation Gennady Mesyats announced the winner at the press-conference at the Ural TASS Information Center.

Academician Rozanov was honoured the Demidov Prize in the category “Biology” for his significant contribution to the development of paleontology. Along with him, the following scientists have become the winners of the Demidov Prize 2022 as well. RAS Academician Vladimir G. Degtyar received the award in the category “Mechanical Engineering” for his significant contribution to the creation of a new generation of rocket technology; RAS Academician Mikhail P. Kirpichnikov was awarded in the category “Bioengineering” for his substantial contribution to the development of bioengineering. Academician Alexander N. Konovalov was presented with the award in the category “Medicine” for his great contribution to the development of neurosurgery and clinical physiology of the nervous system.

This is already the 30th awarding ceremony. The festive awarding ceremony will take place on 10 February 2023 in the residence of the Governor of the Sverdlovsk Region. The Demidov Prize is a Russian national non-governmental award presented to Russian scientists for their outstanding contribution to the development of fundamental sciences. In 2019, Scientific Leader of the Flerov Laboratory of Nuclear Reactions JINR, RAS Academician Yuri Oganessian became a laureate of the Demidov Prize.

Photo © “Scientific Russia”

About the Prize

The Demidov Prize was established in 1831 by Ural industrialist Pavel Demidov. Until 1866, the prize was annually awarded on 17 April, on the birthday of Emperor Alexander II. It was considered as the most prestigious non-governmental award in Russia. On the initiative of the Ural branch of RAS and local entrepreneurs, the tradition was revived in Yekaterinburg in 1993. National non-governmental Demidov prizes are awarded for personal significant contribution to several fields: earth sciences, physics and mathematics, economics and entrepreneurship, humanities.

Laureates are selected by a survey among specialists in each field. Five commissions and the committee on prizes, which includes the most prominent scientists of Russia, make the final decision. Funds for the payment of prizes come from the Demidov Scientific Foundation. Each winner receives a diploma, a gold medal in the unique malachite case-box and a million rubles (annually corrected).

In different years, the winners of the Demidov Prize were Andrey Gaponov-Grekhov, Nikolay Laverov, Zhores Alferov, Andrey Zaliznyak, Ludwig Faddeev, Gennady Mesyats, Vladimir Fortov, and other outstanding scientists.