JINR Scientific Council honoured scientists’ achievements

News, 23 September 2023

On 22 September, the 134th session of the Scientific Council finished at the JINR International Conference Centre. On this day, the OGANESSON Prize’s first winners were announced, the N. N. Bogoliubov Prize and the JINR Prize diplomas for the best research works of 2022 were presented to winners. Two scientists were awarded the title “Honorary Doctor of JINR”.

Reports by young scientists selected at the June meetings of the JINR Programme Advisory Committees opened the agenda. A researcher of the Laboratory of High Energy Physics Mikhail Shandov presented the report “System of correction of leading magnetic field of NICA Booster”. A researcher at the Laboratory of Neutron Physics Vladimir Zhaketov spoke about the proximity effects in superconducting and ferromagnetic heterostructures.

Victor Sadovnichy, Rector of Lomonosov Moscow State University, President of the Russian Rectors’ Union, Academician, a member of the RAS Presidium, and a professor was awarded the title “Honorary Doctor of JINR” for his outstanding contribution to the development of science, its popularisation, and promotion of international scientific cooperation by the decision of the Scientific Council. His research interests are mathematical modeling and mathematical methods of information processing. At the SC session, his significant contribution to the development of the spectral theory of differential operators was noted.

“JINR’s cooperation with MSU has been going on for more than 60 years. We have two departments of the MSU branch in Dubna, and we have joint plans to create two more departments, namely Big Data Sciences and the Department of Radiochemistry and Radiobiology,” Grigory Trubnikov said.

Professor Dénes Lajos Nagy, Honorary Research Professor at the Wigner Research Centre for Physics of the Hungarian Research Network (HUN-REN), who was also awarded the title “Honorary Doctor of JINR” at the session, has been a member of the JINR Scientific Council since 2002. Since 2000, with a short break, he has been an expert of the JINR Programme Advisory Committee for Condensed Matter Physics. Since 2017, he has been the chairman of this Programme Advisory Committee. He is an outstanding Hungarian scientist in the field of Mössbauer spectroscopy and nuclear resonance scattering of synchrotron radiation for determining the magnetic layer and domain structure of multilayer systems, as well as modeling, formation, and transformation of domain structures in these systems. Professor Nagy also works in close cooperation with colleagues from FLNP JINR in the field of neutron reflectometry of magnetic layers and the domain structure of multilayer materials.

Both new honorary doctors have been members of the Institute’s Scientific Council for many years. In addition, JINR has strong long-term relations with the research centres they represent.

At the session of the Scientific Council, the first laureates of the Oganneson Prize, established on the initiative of a legendary scientist, FLNR Scientific Leader, RAS Academician Yuri Oganessian were presented.

The Prize Committee nominated candidates for the prize. The committee was chaired by Academician, past-President of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Scientific Leader of the National Centre for Physics and Mathematics Alexander Sergeev. As a result of an open discussion, the jury recommended nominating four scientists. Alexander Sergeev presented the first laureates to the SC members. They were Ana María Cetto Kramis, Mikhail Shvydkoy, Valeria Pershina, and Vasily Semin.

A member of the JINR Scientific Council and professor at the National Autonomous University of Mexico Ana María Cetto Kramis was awarded for scientific works in quantum mechanics and theoretical physics, for great personal contribution to the strengthening of global scientific cooperation for peace and sustainable development.

A Doctor of Arts, an art director of the Moscow Musical Theatre, an ex-Minister of Culture of the Russian Federation, a cultural, social, and public figure Mikhail Shvydkoy was presented the prize for personal contribution to the development of international scientific and cultural cooperation, and the popularisation of modern science achievements in mass media.

Valeria Pershina, a chemistry professor at the GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research (Germany) received the prize for theoretical studies of the electronic structure and chemical properties of superheavy elements.

A young scientist, Head of the Scientific and Experimental Department of the FLNR Accelerator Complex at JINR Vasily Semin was given the OGANESSON Prize for significant personal contribution at the beginning of his scientific career to the creation of new primary experimental facilities at FLNR JINR, providing breakthrough scientific results in nuclear physics.

“There is a very good tradition in Russian science when well-known academicians organize such funds, supporting their colleagues,” Alexander Sergeev summed up. He gave an example of one of the first such prizes — the Macarius Prize for the Humanities, founded in 1867, which still exists today. “Yuri Oganessian is our outstanding scientist. It really was a very wise decision, a wise idea, and I am very pleased to announce its first results,” Alexander Sergeev said.

The OGANESSON Prize will be given annually for scientific achievements in fundamental and applied research in physics, chemistry, biology, as well as for science popularisation.

At the session of the Scientific Council, Director of the Bogoliubov Laboratory of Theoretical Physics at JINR Dmitry Kazakov was awarded the prize named after the second JINR Director Nikolay Bogoliubov.

“The prize is awarded to both famous physicists and young scientists for outstanding work in the fields of theoretical and experimental physics,” Grigory Trubnikov explained. Dmitry Kazakov, the laureate of the prize, presented a brief scientific report on renormalizability in quantum field theories to SC members.

In a festive atmosphere, JINR Director Grigory Trubnikov and JINR Scientific Secretary Sergey Nedelko presented diplomas for the 2022 JINR awards for the best scientific, scientific-methodological, and scientific-technical applied papers to the Institute’s employees. Grigory Trubnikov wished the winners good health and new scientific achievements.

The session was concluded with a general discussion and adoption of the Resolution of the Scientific Council.